Spiritual Underwear

Underwear

 Whether you wear boxers, boxer briefs, whitey tighties, bikini, granny, or a thong, the first thing you do when you get dressed is put on your underwear, well the majority of us do (we aren’t gross like that).  Just as your underwear is the foundation of your apparel, praise and worship to God is the foundation of your daily walk with God.  Isaiah 61:3 says to put on the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness. To praise simple means to give thanks and it will take away everything that weighs you down.  If you’re feeling pressure to do well in school, pressure to perform well in a sport or activity, pressure to do things that you know don’t agree with the word of God, pressure in living up to your parents expectations of you or to what your brother or sister accomplished, just begin to praise God and all of the things weighing you down will lift off of you in the presence of God.  Matthew 11:28 says “Come to me, all who are tired from carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest.  29 Place my yoke over your shoulders, and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble. Then you will find rest for yourselves 30 because my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” By starting your day with praise to God, and continuing your praising attitude throughout the day, the pressure will disappear and be replaced with the presence of God.

Truth:

Isaiah 61:3 says to put on the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness.

Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all who are tired from carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest.  29 Place my yoke over your shoulders, and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble. Then you will find rest for yourselves 30 because my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

Share:

Is there a particular worship song that always changes your mood or strengthens you?  Why?

What is a specific time when worshiping God completely changed your outlook?

About wolcarlsbad

Pastor of Word of Life Church in Carlsbad, NM

Posted on August 23, 2011, in Love, Prayer, Relationship to God. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Spiritual Underwear.

Comments are closed.